Book: Saturday by Ian McEwan

I asked one of my friend, if she has some books in English because I prefer to read real books instead of e-books. Of course, she was happy to help me and let me borrow a book from her. It was Saturday by Ian McEwan, let’s see, if I enjoyed it or not.

The story is about a Saturday of Henry Perowne. He is a neurosurgeon with a lawyer wife, Rosalind, they are still deeply in love with each other. He has a daughter, Daisy, who is a poet, a son Theo, who is blues musician and a father in law is not a piece of cake. They are planning to have a nice dinner together, all of them. However, during that special Saturday there is a protest on the street. Because of that, Perowne will have a car accident which as a butterfly effect changes the course of the family night.

The book is a precisely and meticulously written in a description form. There is only a few conversation in it,  only if it’s really necessary, but the writer is able to explain most of the things by describing it. Some parts are beautiful and interesting, usually the flashbacks where we get to know Perowne’s life and family. Some of the parts are strongly irritating like the squash game, which is too long and boring. Personally my biggest problem is the breaking of the book. The chapters are long, which wouldn’t be a problem, if you can find stable points, where you stopped earlier. Unfortunately, sometimes all the describing so confluent that more than once I had to go back and   re-read parts which I ‘d already done. I was able to remember the main story, but it was hard to find where I stopped next all these unimportant describing. The story is about a mostly ordinary Saturday, so we have to wait a lot for the great plot. It comes and goes like a small little wave and won’t be as accentual as the writer meant it. Of course, we close everything with a , I think strongly predictable, description.

This is the kind of the book which I am not able to list as a good or a bad one. There were more nicely and well written parts, which made it readable. Although, it would have been better without boring bumps on the way, but still I can’t say it made the story bad. It was obvious from the beginning. I didn’t buy a surprise packet. It’s Henry Perowne’s own personal day. There are parts of a day when everything is boring and this is what we get. A real person’s ordinary Saturday with a little incident in it. It’s not disappointing it’s just less interesting sometimes, but not that boring to not finish the book.

I would say it was an interesting experience. No regrets, but I am sure I won’t read it again.

Leave a Reply

