Pen friends

I’ve been planning to write this post for months now. Somehow I never found the time or there were more actual things to write about but today I promised myself I will write a post and I chose this one. Stay tuned, it’s a funny story.

I never had a real pen friend when I was a kid. I had attempts to have one, but it never worked out. I want to share with you today a story about one of my attempts. You might not believe it but it’s true and it really happened with me.

When I was 16 years old to find a penfriend in a teen magazine was still a popular thing. I found this guy who was from the United States and I thought it would have been a great opportunity for me to practice my English skills. I knew that he was a guy who was looking for a friend and nothing more it was an ordinary pen friend advertisement. During that time you had been waiting for months to get a letter from a foreign country. If I remember right I got my answer 6 months later. It was long with a few pictures about a 30 something guy who was in jail at that time. He assured me that despite the unpleasant circumstances ,as he wrote, he was a nice guy who was once a soldier, an university student and a striptease dancer too. It wasn’t hard to read but I had to open up my dictionary and translate every words because I couldn’t believe it. Next day I showed it to my English teacher who had agree with me about the content of the letter. That time Internet wasn’t the part of the household so at school, during IT hours, I had chance to check the address and yes the owner of it was prison in Texas. There was a little paper in the envelop with the letter which drew attention that it was written by an occupant from there. However, after I got his answer the next two days I was laughing and I thought I was a part of some kind of prank or scam so I didn’t pay attention to it.

After I figured it out that this guy was really in jail. My parents asked to me write him back with the nicest words that he was too old to be my pen friend and they asked me to never ever try to get one again. Six months later  I got an answer again. It was a picture about the guy and at the back he wrote “always your cowboy”. Yes of course, he was a cowboy too.

I think the most ridiculous part of the story that I got the address from an innocent teen magazine. I mean, the people who worked their, why didn’t they check who wrote for them, especially if the letter came from a foreign country? By the way how the guy, who was in a prison on a different continent, were able to get the address of my small country’s teen magazine?

I told this story to one of my friends a few weeks ago and she asked that I ever notified the magazine about it. To be honest I never did. I didn’t even think about it. My parents were happy that I didn’t insist to keep this guy as a pen friend . I guess I wasn’t the only one who write him and one of the people ,who got an answer letter from him too, or their parents called the magazine that there was a little problem.

I am sure some of you read the story and won’t believe it, but it’s true. What about you Dear Reader? Do you have a crazy pen friend story too? Sometimes I just hope I wasn’t the only who had this weird experience.

Leave a Reply

